Life

I Am A Passenger Just Passing Through…

via Daily Prompt: Passenger

It may sound weird to you, me saying that I am a passenger just passing through. But death and taxes are the only certainties in Life. And one day, we all are going to die. That is a fact.

I recently started a new job after being home for a little while. Honestly, 2016 was not a great year for us. Challenges from all sides – when it rains it pours, they say and boy can I relate! So I took a little time off. To gather my thoughts. Work through the challenges I faced. And regain my sanity that seemed to have left me in the midst of my struggles. Fear and confusion were  bountiful, but sanity, it was nowhere to be found.

Returning to the corporate world after a few months of being shielded from corporate politics and the like, I find myself back on the hamster wheel. The same wheel  I decided to take a break from just a few months ago. The break seems like a distant memory now, but even more disappointing, are the promises I made to myself about the things that I wanted to do differently this time round. Sadly,  I find myself falling into old unhealthy habits, which I am not proud of.

When I saw the daily prompt was Passenger, I was divinely guided to write this post. The word “passenger” resonates with me. I am reminded that I am just a passenger here. A passenger just like all of us, passing through. Nothing is permanent. Not even life itself. And as a passenger, our job is to make the journey from this world to the next the best possible one. Making memories that we can look back on fondly and proudly, not with regret. Doing the things we love and spending our finite time with those who matter most. So why is it so easy for me to fall back into these unhealthy habits that take me further away from what is important and not closer.  It is probably because I fool myself, just like so many others out there, into thinking that we have all the time in the world. But the truth is, we don’t. Time isn’t guaranteed to anyone…

One thing that almost all terminally ill patients say on their death beds, is that they wish that hadn’t taken life so seriously. That they did more of what they loved and stopped wasting time on things that don’t really matter in the end. I don’t want those regrets one day. I don’t want to feel that I still have dreams to chase but my time is up. I want to chase my dreams now and I want to see them materialise in this lifetime!

Life is fleeting. It is here one minute and gone the next. Ask anyone who has lost a loved one. So, the lesson for me is that old habits are often hard to break, but they can be broken and be replaced with better ones. Ones that get you closer to your dreams not further away or keep you stuck where you are. Remember, you are merely a passenger, passing through this fragile and fleeting life. Don’t get caught up in the drama that robs you of your joy. Don’t live someone else’s dream. Chase your dreams, they CAN be reached. Forget about people. They will always have a lot to say about the decisions you make, but YOU are the only one that will have to live with the consequences of those decisions, not them. Choose wisely and from the heart – your own heart!

We are all passengers just passing through the journey called Life.. It’s a one way ticket and there is no going back. Don’t waste the trip only to wish you had more time to do what really matters to you….

“Life is short. So…Break the rules. Forgive quickly. Kiss slowly. Love truly. Laugh uncontrollably. And NEVER regret anything that made you smile.” – Anonymous

Carmen

xxx

 

Leave a Reply

