Health and Wellbeing

What’s On My Plate? – Zucchini Bolognaise

Zucchini Noodle Bolognaise Recipe

I was really craving a home cooked meal today after the not so healthy meals we consumed over the holiday period. I was feeling for Spaghetti Bolognaise or Beef Lasagne. I was craving the delicious sweet and sour combination that leaves you longing for more 🙂 . Trouble is, my tummy doesn’t do wheat pasta well, so I had to use my imagination to come up with an alternative that would be just as tasty. And boy, am I glad I did. I know I may sound a bit biased seeing that I cooked this meal, but honest to goodness, it was delicious!

As with all my recipes, I try and give a little insight into the goodness or health benefits of some of the ingredients. Knowledge is power and it helps to know what you putting into your system and what it is doing for you, or not….

Zucchinis (also known as Baby Marrows) –  One cup of zucchini only has 36 calories and 10% of the RDA of dietary fibre, which aids in digestion, prevents constipation, maintains low blood sugar and curbs overeating. It is also known to have anti-inflammatory properties, promote prostrate health, prevent cancer and lower cholesterol. *

Garlic – hmmm, I love anything and everything with garlic. I love it so much that Noel often says to me “The garlic smell is coming out of your skin already”. I know it’s not the most flattering of smells, but it adds huge flavour to any meal and it also has many health benefits.  According to Authority Nutrition website, Garlic is known to help combat sicknesses such as colds and flu, reduce blood pressure, improve cholesterol levels, detoxify the body from heavy metals and improve bone health. These are just a few of the wonderful things that including Garlic to your diet can do for you.

Onions – The phytochemicals in onions along with their vitamin C, help improve immunity. They contain chromium, which assists in regulating blood sugar. Onions are also said to reduce inflammation and heal infections.**

Paprika spice – Paprika is said to have anti-oxidant, anti-inflammatory and anti-bacterial properties making it a powerhouse spice! It is also filled with nutrients such as Iron, Vitamin A, and E to mention a few, all of which is needed for our bodies to operate optimally. ***

Lean Beef Mince – It contains protein, zinc, phosphorus, iron and B-complex vitamins. Beef can help build strong muscles, teeth and bones while helping supply energy and oxygen to cells.****

What you will need:

500 grams Lean Beef Mince

1 Large Onion

1 Kg Baby Marrows – you can either buy the marrows and cut them into strips yourself (which is what I did) or you can buy the pre-cut noodles.

2 x 50g Tomato Paste

1 Tablespoon Paprika Powder

1 Tablespoon Cinnamon

1 Tablespoon Crushed Garlic

2 Cloves

Salt, Pepper and Sugar to taste – this really depends on how you like your Bolognaise, so play around, and see how much you need to bring about the perfect combination of sweet and sour.

What to do:

  1. Dice Onion and brown in some olive oil with the Garlic
  2. Once the Onions are brown, add the Mince and cook for about 5 minutes until the meat turns white
  3. Add the Tomato Paste, Salt, Pepper, Sugar, Cinnamon and Paprika – bring to a boil by adding water.
  4. Cook for about another 5 minutes
  5. Add Zucchini noodles and cook for about 15 – 20 minutes until the Zucchinis are soft and stringy,  but not mash 🙂
  6. Serve hot! Sprinkle with some Parmesan Cheese 🙂

We really enjoyed this meal and I hope that you and your family will too 🙂 .

This serves 4 adults, which means I have leftovers for tomorrow night as well 🙂 .

“Part of the secret to the success of life, is to eat what you like…” – Mark Twain

Carmen

xxx

Please note that I am not a nutritionist and the information I provide in my posts are researched and extracted from health sites on the internet. I am not providing medical advice. The information provided is intended for informational purposes only.
Sources:
*Healthdiaries.com
** Care2 Healthy Living website
*** Homesteadgarden.com
**** Livingstrong.com
Leave a Reply

