Health and Wellbeing · Life · Out and About

Retreat and Recharge

via Daily Prompt: Retreat

Shoo, I can’t believe that Christmas is over. And I don’t want it to be! There was this whole build up to the day. All the preparation that went into it, the hype and the excitement. And now it’s over…But I’m a die hard – I’m still playing carols as I’m writing this!

We had a wonderful family Christmas lunch yesterday and thank goodness –  it went off without a glitch. When my family are all together under one roof, anything is possible. We have had our fair share of drama in the past– but I must say that yesterday was awesome – a drama-less family gathering. (smiling face…). It was so heart-warming to see the little ones’ faces light up as they tore the wrapping off their gifts. And to still having both my parents around the table – what a blessing. I know of a few people who lost a parent days before Christmas – the first one without a loved one is always the hardest, but I cannot imagine that it gets any easier as the years go by.

Today, I’m definitely feeling it. All the preparation, all the food, all the excitement, all the bubbly – it’s left me feeling drained and tired as hell. Yesterday morning Noel and I were up super early and went to bed way past midnight. Guests left all happy and gay, but you’re stuck with the cleaning! But it’s all good – it comes with the territory and it was a pleasant family gathering celebrating another Christmas together. Even though my house looked like a bomb hit it this morning, I’m grateful that we still had the same faces and some new ones (my niece is 6 months old) around the table. God willing, next year we will have added some more!

This year has been particularly challenging. So many things have happened, I am definitely not the same person I was at the beginning of the year and now we are literally counting down the days to 2017!

Before we know it, the new year will be upon us. The holidays and the festivities will have come to an end and the hustle and bustle of the new year with be in full swing. School will start and we will head off back to work. I just feel like I didn’t get a chance to relax this year, really relax in the true sense of the word. So, that’s why I’m looking forward to these last few days of 2016.

We will be riding out the balance of this year at camp! A retreat (kind of) in the winelands. It’s become a tradition –  we try and camp for a few days at the end of the year and have managed to do so for the last couple of years now. We used to camp when I was a child and some of my most treasured childhood memories are those spent at camp over the school holidays. I’m looking forward to reliving some of those carefree memories. And to just be…

We, more often than not, get caught up in the rat race called life and we forget to enjoy little moments of nothingness. Little moments are souls are longing for…. Get off the wheel…Catch your breath…you will be happy you did. Remember doing nothing is still doing something. So for those (including me) that cannot stand still even for a minute, when you feel guilty for doing absolutely nothing and giving yourself the much longed for breathing space, remember that doing nothing is still doing something, so you are still busy.

We will be waking up to the sound of the birds in the trees, the river running close by and the sun streaming through onto our faces. Our days will be spent barefoot playing board games and nights will be spent around a campfire making marshmallow treats, telling ghost stories…Having good old fashion FUN! Just the kind of retreat I’m looking forward to.

I am also looking forward to some “me” time.  I hope to carve out some time to reflect on 2016. All that has happened. What I want to change. What I want to do more of. I want to take this week to reconnect with myself and go into 2017 differently – hopefully calmer and more confident that no matter what 2017 brings, I am ready for it.

I only have two new year’s resolutions on my list:

  1. Do more of what makes ME happy; AND
  2. Let go – of all judgement and expectation

When we truly let go of all expectation (of how people must act or treat us, of how situations must play out, of how challenges must be solved, of how things must happen) we can only feel grateful that the universe has orchestrated things in the way they unfolded and that they happened just the way they should. We cannot be disappointed, because there is no preconceived notion of how things must happen. We only hope for the best and trust that the best is what transpired.

This was a big lesson I learnt in 2016. No expectation = No disappointment = More Faith –  that things happen for a reason and just as they should.

As I head off for some much-needed R&R, I wish that you have an awesome New Year and that 2017 brings more of what makes you happy. Much blessings to you!

Here’s to an exciting 2017, blessed with favour and abundance!

“You have to know when to strike and when to retreat.” – John Oates

Carmen

 

xxx

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

