DIY · Life

Homemade Christmas Treats – Rocky Choc Squares

This year Christmas, seen that I had some time on my hands, I wanted to give my guests some homemade gifts to take home with them. I wasn’t sure what I wanted to make, but I knew immediately when I saw this recipe for these delicious chocolates treats.

They were seriously easy to make and were done in no time at all. The ingredients didn’t cost an arm or a leg and I know that my family is going to enjoy this with a nice cup of coffee or tea – especially my dad who has a very sweet tooth. It’s such a wonderful feeling knowing that when he is front on the TV with his coffee biting into one of these, he will be reminded of me and how much we love and appreciate him!

Ingreadients for Rocky Chocolate Golden Syrup and Marshmallows

What you will need:

125g Butter

300g Chocolate

45ml Golden syrup or Honey

150 g Marie biscuits

2 Crunchy bars, broken into chunky pieces

100g Marshmallows ( I just used a handful of marshmallows and they seemed to be enough)

 What to do:

Line a 24cm square baking tin with greased proof paper.

On the stove, gently melt the Butter, Golden syrup and the Chocolate.

Crush the Marie Biscuits in a food processor or in a plastic bag. They mustn’t be crumbs, but just chunky pieces of biscuit.

Cut the Marshmallows into smaller pieces.

Break Crunchy bars into smaller pieces.

Once the Chocolate is completely melted, fold in the Biscuit, Marshmallows and Crunchy bars.

Pour mixture into the baking tin, level with a spatula and refrigerate for at least 2 hours.

IMG_20161215_171926.jpg

I left mine overnight so they were nice and hard when I cut them.

Using a pizza cutter, cut into squares of any size.

You could put these on a pretty platter and serve it as part of your dessert  or give them as gifts for your guests. The boxes and the string I got at China Town and were super cheap.

IMG_20161216_100133.jpg

IMG_20161216_100259.jpg

Your kids will love them too, I caught mine (AKA Noel) stealing a few as he was cutting the squares for me. They really are a yummy Christmas treat 🙂 .

I hope that your family enjoyed them as much as we did.

“When no-one understands you, Chocolate is there for you.”- Author Unknown

Carmen

xxx

Leave a Reply

