Health and Wellbeing · Life

Healing my body from the inside out with Smoothies – Part1 : Very Berry Smoothie

I have always loved smoothies. For the most part it was because I didn’t like the taste of milk on its own, so making a smoothie was a convenient way of getting the much-needed calcium into my body. Another reason – although I love fruit, I hate the mess it makes when you eating it – your hands are sticky and you always need to have a bin or tissue nearby for the core or pit, etc.  The whole thing was just too much PT for me. However, being able to throw everything into the blender and one, two, three, it’s done, made the world of a difference for me.

But it wasn’t until earlier this year when I fell seriously ill, that I took a closer look at the benefits of smoothies and how it could help my body heal from the inside out. I started researching the nutritious value of different fruits and vegetables and how I could benefit from them by combining it with other ingredients so that I could get the best of both worlds – convenience and maximum nutrition.

At the beginning of October, I embarked on a smoothie detox to help my body to function better. Me, like most other people, don’t realise how much our bodies are struggling to cope with everything we are throwing at it. Processed food, toxins from the water we drink to the toothpaste we use, chemicals we expose ourselves to when we bath or wash the dishes, to the air we breathe. Our poor bodies are not designed to have to cope with so many stressors. No wonder most of us are suffering from so many ailments,  not to mention brain fog and lethargy!   Just stop for one minute and acknowledge how amazing your body is that as you are standing right here and now, your body is working tirelessly to keep you alive! That deserves respect!

 So, I decided that I would do a one week detox where I would only eat fruit smoothies to help my body eliminate these bad stressors. Much to my surprise, my body responded so well to the detox, that a one week detox as I had originally planned turned into a four week one. My body felt lighter, healthier and was functioning so much better. My digestive system responded very well and even my reflexologist commented that she can see my body is liking what I am doing.

These days, if I’m pressed for time, I just prepare a smoothie that contains protein, fruit, a probiotic, a digestive enzyme and fibre. This seems to sustain me for at least two hours or so.

However, to prepare a smoothie using fresh fruit requires too much of my time, so what I do is prepare smoothie bags and freeze them. I buy the fruit and vegetables that I want to include in the smoothie and one day a week, I prepare the whole bang lot which easily gives me enough for two weeks’ worth. I got the idea from Instagram :).  It is so quick and so convenient – in the morning I just take the smoothie bag out of the freezer, lie it in some water to defrost a little as my hand blender doesn’t cope well with ice and within minutes, it is ready to use. When I do use the big blender, I use the ice crushing function to first crush the frozen fruit (here I don’t defrost it in water first) and then the blending function to create a smooth and delicious liquid meal. In this instance, I would prepare more than one smoothie, which helps justify the cleaning of it when I’m done 🙂 .

Small freezer bags filled with smoothie ingredients ready for use

I have three favourite smoothie recipes I want to share with you. I will do this as part of a series. First up is my Very Berry Smoothie.

IMG_20161213_080858.jpgThis smoothie is made of berries, beetroot, avocado and banana so it is a powerhouse of nutrition in one meal.

Black berries and strawberries are packed with antioxidants which helps the body fight free radicals that cause diseases. They also keep your mind sharp, manages diabetes and helps to fight urinary tract infections.

Beetroot is a purplish, red root that is packed with goodness. It lowers the blood pressure, reduces bad cholesterol, keeps diabetes in check and treats anaemia.

Banana protects against muscle cramps during workouts and night time leg cramps, strengthens your blood and relieves anaemia with the added iron.

 Avocado is jam packed with vitamins such as Vitamin K, C B5, B6, E, Folate, and Potassium.

Here is what you need:

Handful of Blackberries

Two Strawberries

1 Tablespoon of Avocado

1/2 of a Banana

200ml Rice/Almond or Cow’s Milk

2 Tablespoons FutureLife cereal (optional)

1 Tablespoon Linseeds (optional)

2 Probiotic tablets (optional)

1 Digestive Enzyme tablet (optional)

1 Tablespoon Super Foods Green Shake Power (optional)

Blend it all together for a “delicious and so good for you”, meal or snack.

Hope you enjoy it as much as I do. Let me know if you tried it and what you think, I would love to know.

“ In life, much like smoothies, you get out what you put in.” Author Unknown

Carmen

Xxx

 

 

Please note that I am not a nutritionist and the information I provide in my posts are researched and extracted from health/other sites on the internet. I am not providing medical advice. The information provided is intended for informational purposes only.

References:

http://www.everydayhealth.com/diet-nutrition-pictures/amazing-health-benefits-of-berries

http://www.foodmatters.com/article/25-powerful-reasons-to-eat-bananas

https://authoritynutrition.com/12-proven-benefits-of-avocado

 

Leave a Reply

