Life · Uncategorized

Photo Challenge: The Magic of Christmas

via Photo Challenge: Magic

20141214_200023_lls

There is something so magical about Christmas time and everything that goes with it. People are friendlier, easy going and the air is filled with the holiday cheer. Shops are decorated beautifully and children run frantically straight to the toy aisles testing out what they hope Father Christmas will bring them this year!

It’s my favourite time of year. No matter how much older I get, I still experience that same excitement that I did as a child. Even if the shops are jam packed as everyone leaves their Christmas shopping for the week before the big day. Christmas reminds me of happy times, surprises, joy, blessings, family, treats, laughter, champagne,  contentment and the big celebratory lunch.

The smell of fresh paint, the aroma of the gammon in the oven, sleeping on fresh linen and the Boney M CD playing in the background. I’m smiling right now as I’m writing this, because in just a few weeks’ time, Christmas will be upon us once again and we will experience the Magic of Christmas!

 As a child, I remember fondly how on Christmas eve, my mom would be in the kitchen cooking for the huge Christmas lunch we were to enjoy the following day and we would be sitting in the lounge on the carpet watching the lights and trying to guess what surprises Father Christmas would be leaving underneath the tree. That night, we would sleep on new bedding and the following day, we would wear new clothes to church – your “Christmas clothes” as we called it. When the clock struck 12pm, we were woken up to open our gifts and my parents would tell us how Father Christmas had snuck in and left them under the tree. As tired as we were, we still managed to be wide awake for this joyous and exciting moment. Such pleasant memories – it makes my heart smile 🙂  .

I love decorating the Christmas tree. Even as a child it was one of my favourite pastimes and still today nothing has changed. It’s become tradition in our home that I decorate our tree every year. And when I’m done, I stand back and look in awe at the beautiful decorations and the magical lights flickering away. I can literally watch the Christmas tree for hours and be transported to a different place and time. A magical place where there is no pain or suffering, a place where there is no poverty or abuse, a place where only love exists. It feels like if you make a wish while watching the lights turn from red to blue, then yellow, then green, your wish will come true. It gives me renewed hope and new dreams. It’s a time of rebirth and new beginnings. Even if the year hasn’t turned our exactly as you had hoped, Christmas reminds me to keep the faith that next year will be a better one. For just one day, you forget your troubles and all is good in the world.

Having said all of this, I cannot help but think of those that don’t have these fond memories of Christmas, as we do.  For some, Christmas day is just another day, just another struggle. I can only imagine how difficult it must be for those less fortunate to watch us go about our way, buying gifts, and decorations and trolleys filled with groceries and yet, they do not know what their families are going to eat on that day. I hate to put a damper on things, but it is a reality for a lot of people all around the world.

So, this Christmas, I want to challenge myself and you, to try and spread the Magic of Christmas with someone less fortunate. Even if it is something small – a plate of food, a hamper with goodies, clothes you no longer wear or anything really – just something – to remind those who don’t have the fond memories we do, that there are still good people in the world. That there are still people who care. This year lets spread the Magic of Christmas so that on Christmas day, even if it is just for that one day, more people around the world will be a little happier, a little less lonely, a little more loved and a little more hopeful. Let’s share the Magic of Christmas!

“The holiday season is the perfect time to reflect on our blessings and seek out ways to make life better for those around us. “- Terri Marshall

 Carmen

xxx

Leave a Reply

