Health and Wellbeing

What’s on my plate – Tuna & Butternut Fish Cakes with Olive Oil Drizzled Asparagus

Noel and I haven’t had a fish dish in a long time, so I thought that it was time I made one. There was Tuna in the cupboards but no Sweet Potatoes, which is what I usually use. I didn’t feel like going all the way to the shops for one ingredient, so I decided to use what we had and tried Butternut instead. Honestly, I didn’t know how this was going to end because I haven’t heard about any recipes with Tuna and Butternut before. I said a quick Hail Mary and hoped for the best.

Yummy…is all I can say. These were delicious. The Butternut added a subtle sweetness to the Tuna and they complimented each other so nicely. Noel even said to me that it must be added to the weekly meal plan! I also got to use the Wolfieskop Extra Virgin Olive Oil I won at the Gratitude Run 🙂

As always, I only use ingredients that are healthy and nutritious,  so that I can help my body build up my immunity.

20161110_092701.jpg

Here’s all the good stuff you need to know about this dish:

Tuna – is jam packed with nutrients. It is a high-quality protein and is high in minerals such as selenium, magnesium and potassium as well as omega-3 essential fatty acids. Tuna is great for cardiovascular health, good eye health and promotes detoxification, just to name a few of its health benefits.

Butternut – this vibrant vegetable is packed with Vitamin A, Potassium and Fibre. It leaves you feeling fuller for longer and decreases the risk of obesity, diabetes and heart disease.

Asparagus – is loaded with Vitamins A, C, E, K and Chromium as well as being an excellent source of Fibre. Asparagus is packed with anti-oxidants and may even help slow down the aging process!

20161110_095638.jpg

What you need:

  • ½ Medium Onion
  • 2 x Cans of Tuna
  • ½ Medium Butternut
  • 1 Egg
  • ½ Cup of Flour (I used Coconut Flour, but you can also use some Polenta)
  • Salt and Pepper
  • Garlic and Herb Spice
  • 2 Teaspoons Lemon Juice
  • Asparagus tops – enough for your family’s needs.

What to do:

  • Dice the Onion and place in a large mixing bowl
  • Skin the Butternut and microwave for about 6 minutes until the Butternut is soft enough to be mashed
  • Place Tuna in the mixing bowl with the Onion and add Salt, Pepper, Lemon Juice and Garlic and Herb spice
  • Once Butternut is ready, put it in the mixing bowel with the Tuna
  • With a fork, mash the Butternut so that is nicely spread and mixed well with the other ingredients
  • Add the egg
  • Depending on how moist your mixture is, add some flour – enough just until you can make palm size patties without the mixture sticking to your hands
  • Once you have your patties, dust lightly with some flour
  • Place on a baking tray lined with some  Olive Oil
  • Bake for 20 minutes at 190 degree Celsius – turning once until both sides are golden brown
  • Steam Asparagus in the microwave or the stove until slightly soft but still crunchy. Once done, drizzle lightly with Olive Oil.

Serve warm with a chilled glass of your favourite White Wine 🙂 .

Tuna and Butternut Fish Cakes served with Olive il drizzled Asparagus

I got six medium palm size patties out of these ingredients, so a family of 2 adults and 2 small kids can easily enjoy this meal. It can also be paired with a lovely green salad, lemon and herb Sweet Potato wedges or Roasted Vegetables.

I hope you enjoy it as much as we did. Let me know if you do, I’d love to hear.

“There is no love sincerer, than the Love of Food.”- Author Unknown

Carmen

xxx

 

Leave a Reply

